Home > Uncategorized > Pemberton, the Gloucester Tree, and Roo’ meat

Pemberton, the Gloucester Tree, and Roo’ meat

Nannup garden decoration

Nannup garden decoration

We packed up the car and trailer in the morning and hit the road.  At Busselton we bid farewell to the sea as our route took us inland on the 104. We stoped off at Nannup for a quick toilet break, but the flies a heat were getting a bit irritating so we didn’t hang around for long. The road between Nannup and Pemberton reminds me a lot of the Nottingham Road part of the Midlands back home.

Bistro in Nannup

Bistro in Nannup

We finally arrived at Pemberton by 2:00 in the afternoon. We checked into the Pemberton Farm Chalets, and had after unpacking and eating some lunch, we took a walk into the forest to find the Gloucester Tree. The Gloucester Tree is a giant 72 metre high karri tree in the Gloucester National Park, it is the world’s tallest fire-lookout tree, and visitors can climb up to a platform in its upper branches for a view of the surrounding karri forest.

Heading into the forest

Heading into the forest

Big trees in the forest

Big trees in the forest

The Gloucester Tree

The Gloucester Tree

I was famished by the time we got back to the chalet; I was hungry enough to eat a kangaroo… which is what I had for supper at a local restaurant called Sadie’s. Kangaroo meat has a pretty unique taste, and I’m sure that if it’s not cooked or served correctly can taste rather terrible. Thankfully, the chef at Sadie’s, relay knows their roo meat, and prepared it just right, using almonds to take the edge off the meat. I had a most enjoyable meal.

Did I mention the flies!!!

Did I mention the flies!!!

Professional Indemnity Insurance for attorneys

  1. February 19, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    The flies look hectic! Must have been hot.

  2. Rick Bartlett
    January 15, 2012 at 2:34 am

    Carl,

    Did you check out the Bartlett’s in the Pemberton area? I’ve been wanting to go there and see if their roots of the Bartlett tree links with my side.

    Rick Bartlett
    Iowa City, Iowa USA

    • January 15, 2012 at 4:33 pm

      Hi Rick

      I didn’t know there are Bartlett’s in the Pemberton area, my brother only moved to Auz about 6 years ago

      I’m descended from the British Bartlett’s, but was born in South Africa.

  3. Rick Bartlett
    January 15, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    Carl,

    I’m also descended from the British Bartlett’s. My great-aunt wrote the genealogy book, “Family Lines,” by Adele Bartlett-Harper, that describes our family history down to my great-grandfather. Unfortunately, the book has not been updated with his son, my father, me, etc…

    Also, I was incorrect, it the Bartlett’s of Pendomer that I was referring to: http://www.bartlett.to/

  4. January 17, 2012 at 7:15 am

    Rick,

    Is that the Bartlett’s of Ladbroke, if so, do you know where I can get a color version of the famly crest?

    Thanks

    • Rick Bartlett
      January 17, 2012 at 1:29 pm

      Is your side of the family crest with three falconer’s gloves, swan, castle, with the motto, “Matura” ??? That’s mine and I can get you one.

    • Rick Bartlett
      January 17, 2012 at 2:01 pm

      We also have the Bartlett crest with a demi-Griggin with a silver collar holding a silver cinquefoil.in it’s claws.

  5. January 19, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    I’ve had to ask my dad about this, will let you know when he gets back to me

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

