Home > Uncategorized > Dunsborough WA

Dunsborough WA

Road Map

Road Map

Pinjarra Heritage Tearooms

Pinjarra Heritage Tearooms

We packed up the car and trailer on Friday morning and hit the road to Dunsborough for a week long holiday at the coast. After a few hours driving we stoped at Pinjarra for lunch at the Heritage Tearooms. Australian milkshakes tend to be less think than the ones back home with hardly any ice-cream, they are more like cold flavoured milk drinks.

The Heritage Tearooms are based in a collection of old Victorian houses with rolling green laws and well kept English gardens. There is a small museum at the back where volunteer workers restore antique farm equipment and machinery.

The Family Eating Lunch

The Family Eating Lunch

Back on the road again and I admit that I drifted off to sleep, but I did wake up in time to take a brilliant photo of Debbie in the back seat with her head back, fast asleep … unfortunately I won’t be publishing the pic on my blog. I have been bribed with baked goods too keep it private. I did set the picture as the wallpaper on Debbie’s PC while writing this blog post, cos it’s too good not to use 🙂 I am eagerly waiting for her reaction when she discovers it.

Driving through Bunbury the highway reminded me of the roads behind the Coca-Cola Dome in JHB. 

The highway near Bunbury

The highway near Bunbury

We finally arrived at the beach cottage in the small town of Dunsborough, after unloading the car and sorting out room assignments, we walked down to the beach.

Joshua on his "Surf Board"

Joshua on his "Surf Board"

The beach near the cottage is located in a sheltered cove resulting conditions almost similar to an estuary.  Even after you have gone 200 Meters into the water the depth is only up to your knees, and the waves are reduced to mere ripples on the warm turquoise water. Needless to say this is ideal for families with young children and my nephews had a blast.

Building Sand castles

Building Sand castles

Ready for some real relaxation

Sean, ready for some real relaxation

While Dunsborough beach is no surfer’s paradise, it is rather relaxing and idyllic. I was delighted to discover that I can float in the salt rich water, a feat that I have never achieved in normal swimming pools. Lying stretched out on the gently lapping water as if reclining on a bed of water, I felt years of stress just ebbing away and thought to my self, “I could get used to this”.

The cove

The cove

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

